Bowls Queensland Announces impact of Boundary Review

Following the formation of a Boundary Review Committee and recommendations to the Board of Bowls Queensland. The BQ Board would like to implement the following changes to the District and Zone Boundaries within Queensland:

  1. Brisbane North DBA merge with Caboolture DBA, Brisbane North DLBA merge with Caboolture DLBA with a new name to be agreed upon.
  2. During this merger, the following Brisbane North District Clubs will transfer into the Brisbane District: Aspley, Banyo, Chermside, Geebung, Hamilton, Northern Suburbs and Toombul.
  3. The remainder of Brisbane North District Clubs will merge with all Caboolture District Clubs except Glasshouse Country BC who will transfer into the Sunshine Coast District.
  4. Clifton BC will move from Southern Downs District to the Downs District.
  5. Esk BC and Toogoolawah BC will move from Cunningham District to the Downs District.
  6. Following the merger of Districts, the new makeup of Zones will be:
    • Zone 1: Gold Coast/Tweed District.
    • Zone 2: Cunningham District and Gateway District.
    • Zone 3: Condamine District, Downs District, Maranoa Warrego District and Southern Downs District.
    • Zone 4: Brisbane District, (Brisbane North/Caboolture District) and Sunshine Coast District.
    • Zone 5: Fraser Coast DBA/Wide Bay Gympie DLBA and Burnett District.
    • Zone 6: Bundaberg District, Port Curtis District and Central QLD District.
    • Zone 7: Leichhardt District and Mackay District.
    • Zone 8: Tropical Far North QLD District, North QLD District and North-West QLD District. As per Bowls Queensland’s Constitution 21.8:

An affiliated Club or District/s may within 60 days of any intended changes appeal against the decision to BQ Board of management.

Kind Regards

Kerry Green Vice President

Boundary Review Coordinator